Happy Lammas/Lughnasadh!

I’ve spent so much time trying to wade through the bituminous treacle that is Penrith today (there’s a big music festival here and it’s absolutely hair-raisingly bonkers on the roads) that I’ve got to 4pm before realising it’s August 1st.

August 1st is associated with the ‘celtic’ mythological figure of Lugus (British), or Lugh (Irish), or Lleu (Welsh). And I hope all Cumbrians and lovers of Cumbria know that Carlisle was named after Lugus/Lugh/Lleu. Oh yes, really.

Read my original post on Carlisle’s ancient name here: https://esmeraldamac.wordpress.com/2011/04/15/carlisles-ancient-british-heritage-luguwalos/

I hope today’s torrential downpour in Lugus’s Cumbrian city is not an indication of how he feels about his citizens today…

Happy Lammas/Lughnasadh!

3 thoughts on “Happy Lammas/Lughnasadh!

  1. I always enjoy and learn from your postings, Esmeralda – just my type of stuff. And big sympathies with the ‘Kendal Calling’ traffic yesterday – as a Penrith resident, I should have done my Morrisons shopping earlier in the week – doh!

  2. Hope you had a great Lammas/Lughnasadh, a feast! That you remembered is just SO good no matter what time! Atavism? (No idea what it means, but there’s something strangely familiar about it all…) Whatever, proves the beautiful Old Ways are not gone; far from it…Yr Hen Ogledd am Byth! So sad the days of the Border Reivers…of a new Religion and territorial disputes. The Beautiful North, together as one, Celtic Cumbria and Southern ‘Scotland’, Caledonia, Pictland. PEACE X.

Leave a comment